Guest House Reviews

Rumah Jepun sign

Rumah Jepun sign

53 TripAdvisor reviewers have given our accommodation at Rumah Jepun a whopping 5 stars (or in their case, circles!) and, as at Feb 2016, we are ranked:

Ranked #21 of 409 Ubud B&B and Inns on Tripadvisor

We have also received Tripadvisors ‘Certificate of Excellence’.

We thank all our reviewers from Tripadvisor and Airbnb.  Below are some some of their comments about their holiday at Rumah Jepun (there are reviews in English, French, Dutch, Chinese and the Korean language too).

This first great review happened to be from the co-founder of Airbnb (the on-line accommodation company who are revolutionising the ‘accommodation’ industry).  He said…

“This is a great spot. The location couldn’t be more central but the property is tucked far behind the commercial facade of the street– you follow a small path about a hundred meters that leads to a beautiful garden oasis. The staff are extremely welcoming. The room itself is pretty basic but it is clean, has air conditioning, and very fast internet (many places in Bali don’t). Breakfast was delicious and her team helped arrange transportation for our departure. The price is unbeatable for this prime location and hospitality.”
Nathan, Jan ’14
River View Room

River View Room

Here are some more reviews…
This place is so beautiful that it is very hard to leave. The accommodations are excellent. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is traveling to Ubud. The hosts were very helpful and extremely nice also. It is a quiet and serene place to relax.
Regula, Swizterland – Aug 2015
River View Room balcony

River View Room balcony

And this is what Amy, from London, had to say in July 2015:
Rumah Jepun is nothing short of paradise. I loved it so much I am staying the month! It’s set in beautiful gardens which are such a pleasure to wake up to and cared for with such love. The rooms are very pretty and have everything you could need, they’re cleaned everyday and it is so lovely to sit on your balcony and soak up the beauty around you. Breakfast is always delicious and a great selection – amazing banana pancakes and spicy omelettes. The host arranged an amazing experience for me which i’ll never forget! They are always on hand to help with anything you want to see or do, have amazing local knowledge and are also just great to have a natter with. The team are wonderful too and always there to help with anything with big smiles. The location couldn’t be better on Monkey Forest Road where there are amazing shops and restaurants and you can walk everywhere you’d want to go very easily. The beauty of this place is you wouldn’t know you were in the centre of Ubud, you step into a different world once you enter Rumah Jepun, one I certainly don’t want to leave! I’ll definitely be back!
Archway of flowers

Archway of flowers

Here’s a review from a different Amy from Feb 2015 and it’s in Chinese:

很安静的环境也很漂亮,离各个景点都很近! –  Google translate tells me it says: “Very quiet environment is very pretty, very close to all the attractions!”
Juice on the balcony at Rumah Jepun

Juice on the balcony at Rumah Jepun

Location: perfect in center of Ubud near lots of great restaurants and shops. Great garden and cosy modern rooms with airco and good bed.  Host is great, super friendly and give you al lot of tips on what to do if you like.
Staff: nice friendly guys who prepare a good breakfast.
If we ever visit Ubud again we would stay heer again for sure!
Reviewed January 9, 2015 by Rolf
Rama Sita statue

Rama Sita statue

And here’s one from our Dutch guests:
We zouden hier eigenlijk maar 2 nachten verblijven, maar hebben er nog 3 bijgeboekt. Het is een klein paradijsje op aarde. Wij zaten in de waterfall room, welke net opgeleverd was. Alles was nieuw, fris en perfect afgewerkt. Het voelde als thuiskomen. De patio voor de kamer is een juweel om bekijken en om er te zitten. Het personeel is onwijs lief en zorgzaam. Het ontbijt is de beste van heel Bali, vooral de bananen pannekoeken. Je zit een beetje verscholen achter de Monkey forest road, wat heerlijk rustig is, maar je binnen een paar seconden de drukte en gezelligheid kan opzoeken. Tenslotte de gastvrouw Ketut Juli, ze was onwijs behulpzaam, lief, integer en enthousiast. Als wij weer naar Ubud teruggaan, komen wij hier 100% terug.
Dion R (Holland) Oct ’14
Entrance to Rumah Jepun

Entrance to Rumah Jepun

Another in English
What a treat it was to stumble upon this little oasis in the heart of Ubud. Sadly it is high season and I only stayed a night. Our gracious host gave fantastic travel advice. No detail was spared from the blossoms upon the bed to a morning breakfast. The spicy omelette made by the charming Gede was the best I’ve had in Bali. I’ve stayed in 4 other airbnb in Bali and this was my best experience. As a solo female traveler my stay here made all the difference for my memories of Ubud.
Alexa V (America) July ’14
Breakfast on your balcony

Breakfast on your balcony – legendary pancakes & omelettes!

I stayed 5 nights at Rumah Jepun, and it was fabulous. The house is situated off the main Monkey Forest Road with easy access to restaurants and shops, but it’s tucked away further back in a beautiful garden setting. The room and grounds were lovely. I enjoyed eating breakfast everyday on the patio. The hostess and was very knowledgeable about the area and the culture. Her staff, Gede and Ketut, were so nice and helpful, always with smiles on their faces. I will definitely stay there the next time I’m in Ubud!
Julie G (America) Oct ’13
Artistically presented towels

Artistically presented towels

I had a wonderful stay at Rumah Jepun. Although this was my second airbnb stay, I have a feeling this place is special. My stay felt more like a small quaint B&B experience than lodging at someone’s place. They were tremendously helpful with ideas for trips and even helped me arrange a bike tour with my own personal driver pick-up, as I was running late for the airport. The location can not be beat. I had expected a peaceful, wildlife-teeming surrounding from the pictures provided, which I did experience but less than a two minute walk away I found myself on the main drag of town, Monkey Forest Road. Thank you for such a great experience. I would definitely stay here again.
Raja (Taiwan) 28/9/13
Relax on a sun lounger in the garden

Relax on a sun lounger in the garden – it’s what holidays are made for

Me and my husband have spent 5 nights in Rumah Jepun, which was absolutely fantastic. The house is located in the very center of Ubud, but with its quiet tropical garden, it is really like a sanctuary. The staff are really helpful with recommendations what to do and they also arranged the programs for us. In the room you will find a booklet with insider tips about Ubud, follow the suggestions! And do not miss a SPA experience in Sedona!  Thank you!
Luca (Hungary) 25/9/13

Rumah Jepun surrounded by greenery

Rumah Jepun surrounded by greenery

“Perfect” –5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 NEW
Pro:
– Situated in the heart of Ubud, it’s quiet though. Leaving the house, it takes 2 min until you’re in the hustle and bustle of Monkey Forest Rd.
– The room is big enough for two people, clean and the AC is placed not directly above the bed – which is great.
– Breakfast is served on your own terrace each morning and is of good quality.
– Many advices what to do and where to go if one asks. They have some very good friends who can drive you around Bali for a reasonable price.
– Beautiful garden, right next at a small river.
– Perfect price-performance-ratio!

 Contra:
– None
Neutral:
– None

I wanted to stay in Ubud for some day and do some trips around the town. I first only booked three nights at the Rumah Jepun – but just after my first night, I extended my stay for three more nights.
I was a bit scared that the surroundings could be to loud and noisy, since the Rumah Jepun is at Monkey Forest Rd. But since it is set back some hundred meters, the only thing you can hear is the small river next to the house and the insects making there incomparable sound! Great!

I would highly recommend staying at Rumah Jepun!
Stayed February 2013, traveled solo,
Christian Z, Germany

Flowers on your washbasin

Flowers on your washbasin

Rumah Jepun in Ubud is an oasis just off the bustling main street in a location you can only dream about.

The newly built Rumah Jepun is sparkling clean, roomy, quiet and with excellent a/c.

You can take your breakfast on the terrace next to the gorgeous garden, listening to the babbling brook or enjoy it in the perfect quiet of your room……I recommend the terrace.

Thanks, I came for 2 nights and stayed 4, wish it could have been more, I think you have a winning combination here, lovely home-stay, your personal attentiveness and efficient staff. All the best,
Chris C – UK

Relax on the bale (gazebo)

Relax on the bale (gazebo)

A radiantly happy hostess, bubbling with ideas to make your visit to Bali unforgettable. The lovely Rumah Jepun, is a serene getaway. The house nestles in a tropical garden at the end of a passage that removes you from the bustle of the very heart of Ubud.

Your breakfast is served by smiling staff wherever and whenever you want it, but sitting under the thatched palm roof of the little platform beside the brook is hard to beat. Everything is spotlessly clean with a/c and Western bathrooms, something you will appreciate after you’ve seen a few others!

While you’re there, ask about her tailor, Nyoman, a dynamic joker who challenged me to an arm wrestle moments after we met! (Maybe I’m one of the few women who are smaller than he is…?) Give him your new sarong fabric and he will sew a pair of pants or dress for you and return it the next day!

You won’t find a more gracious, helpful hostess, or a more delightful accommodation at this price anywhere else. Say that Sherry sent you!

November 2012

Unusual lamp to light your way

Unusual lamp to light your way

A beautiful home set along a creek with a gorgeous garden in the heart of Ubud. The location cannot be beat.

It’s in the heart of Ubud off Monkey Forest Rd; however set far back from the street so there is absolutely no noise.

The beautiful garden and running water sound from the creek make for a very calming experience.

A wonderful host, incredibly kind and welcoming, and her staff couldn’t stop smiling. Rooms are clean and have there own patio outside them where you can sit and enjoy the surroundings. I really enjoyed my stay.

Thank you!
Alex B – USA

Cats whiskers plant

Cats whiskers plant

The rooms are set within a very nice garden by a lovely stream and it has been a very nice experience staying there.

Very nice and very helpful as well in helping us organizing our trip around Bali!

Thanks.
Eugenie L – France

******

We stayed at Rumah Jepun for four nights.

The place was spacious, clean, and new, and we really enjoyed our banana pancake breakfast every morning.

The staff was very sweet, and the driver recommended for us was very pleasant and was willing to accommodate us and our random requests.

We had an amazing time in Ubud overall, and a great deal of this was due to their recommendations for short day trips and the connections she helped us establish.

I would recommend Rumah Jepun to any traveler looking for a quiet reprieve from the main road. Although it’s only a five minute walk to Monkey Forest Road, we enjoyed the peaceful quiet of home and I enjoyed relaxing in the beautiful Balinese garden each morning.
Hannah K – USA

View of the tropical garden

View of the tropical garden from your balcony – our guest house is surrounded by greenery!

The accommodation was very nice, a beautiful setting and so convenient just down a lane way behind the main part of Ubud.

No traffic sounds at all from the street and just the sounds of a stream flowing.

It is almost brand new and very clean, we had our breakfast served on the balcony by one of her lovely staff and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Joy A – Australia

Banana trees in the gardenAnd even a review in French…

Ketut Julie et son équipe (Gede et Ketut) ont fait tout ce qu’il fallait pour que notre séjour de 3 jours à ubud soit parfait. Comprendre notre mauvais anglais, faire nos réservations pour différents services ou activités, nous guider etc… La chambre est très bien située au calme et à deux pas du nécessaire. Je recommande très vivement cette location et remercie encore julie pour tout!!

And one in Korean:

일주일간 우붓에 위치한 이 숙소에 머물렀습니다. 호스트 쥴리는 항상 웃음띤 얼굴로 친절하게 여행 일정에 관한 많은 팁과 정보를 주며 혼자한 여행에 어려움없이 일주일간 행복한 시간을 보낼 수 있도록 도와 주었습니다. 숙소 또한 몽키포레스트 바로 옆 메인로드에 위치하여 교통이 매우 편리하고 레스토랑, 바, 쇼핑등 매우 편리하며 도보로 다닐 수 있으며 시끌벅쩍한 메인로드의 소음은 숙소에서는 거의 들리지 않고 울창한 숲과 강을 개인전망으로 휴식을 취할 수 있어 정말 좋았습니다.

To see pics and more description of our guest house rooms at Rumah Jepun click here

Aside from holidays, if you’re interested in other aspects of life here in Bali maybe check out  www.julieinbali.wordpress.com

Or, if you want to know about Yaniq’s music (my partner), then click here  www.yaniq1.wordpress.com – maybe you will meet him at Rumah Jepun, or come to see him at a gig or…

Yaniq playing guitar in the garden

Yaniq playing guitar in the garden

just enjoy his art hanging on the walls at Rumah Jepun – if you want to see his art collection just ask – and maybe buy one as a souvenir:

Yaniq's art - dancer

Yaniq’s art – dancer

We’re thrilled to have such wonderful reviews and it’s our passion to make your stay at Rumah Jepun a memorable holiday experience too.
Looking forward to welcoming you!

Rumah Jepun sign

Rumah Jepun sign

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Tess

     /  17/06/2016

    We are interested in staying at your place….5 of us 2 adults and 3 kids, 9, 10 and 14. Please advise availability and rates please. Thank you.

    Tess Brown

    Reply
    • Hi Tess, many thanks for your interest in staying with us, however, Rumah Jepun is not suitable for children.

      Our neighbours accommodation is bettter for famiies. So please let us know your dates and I can advise if next door is available and send you more details too.
      Kind regards

      Reply

Would love to hear from you...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: